Rally History:

The term "rally", as a branch of motorsport, probably dates from the first Monte Carlo Rally of January 1911. Rallying itself can be traced back to the 1894 Paris–Rouen Horseless Carriage Competition (Concours des Voitures sans Chevaux), sponsored by a Paris newspaper, Le Petit Journal, which attracted considerable public interest and entries from leading manufacturers. The 1966 Monte Carlo event was the most controversial in the history of the Rally. The first four finishers, driving three Mini-Coopers, Timo Mäkinen, Rauno Aaltonen and Paddy Hopkirk, and Roger Clark's 4th-placed Ford Cortina were all disqualified because their headlights were out of spec.

American Rally:

Rally America was founded in 2002 by CPD Rally Team owner Doug Havir, who provided scoring and reporting services to the Sports Car Club of America's ProRally Championship. In 2005 the SCCA withdrew its involvement in U.S. stage rallying and sold all commercial and sanctioning rights to Rally America.

In 2005, the inaugural Rally America National Championship was run, incorporating most of the events previously sanctioned by the SCCA.[2] In 2011, Vermont businessman Bill Fogg took over ownership of Rally America from Havir.[3]

Based in Williston, VT, today Rally America, Inc. sanctions the Rally America National Championship, the premier performance rally championship in the United States, as well as a number of regional rally championships from coast-to-coast.